Where were you?

Lucy

ACME
Best answers
AMA
findcarmen.com
Known Aliases
Alice, Luce
I'm just thinking about where I was 20 years ago when I found out what happened on 9/11/01. I was just wondering where everyone was and how they found out themselves that day. I was a Freshman in High School on that day. My best friend and I were in study hall when someone came in and yelled "Turn on the TV. The Twin Towers in New York have been attacked."

Best answers
Color #
White
(Answering OOC: As most of you know, most of Julie's back-story is based on elements from my "real" life; only names of people and pets, etc. have been changed; and I am going to "re-set" Julie's age a little in her current story-line; making her quite a bit younger; which will make sense to you later. But that is a subject for another time.)

I had to cheat, and do the math on my computer. I was 31 on September 11, 2001.

Mom remembers it like this. She had just finished her chores in the barn, and was on her way over to my grandparents (her parents) house next door, to have coffee--and perhaps lunch. That was not unusual; she went over there every day--sometimes several times a day--to have food, and have long conversations on a variety of topics with her mom; and later with her dad; after he came home from working at the Veterans' Affairs office. (Grandpa had been at Pearl Harbor; where he was originally a cook with the Cee Bees; and he was moved to other positions later on.)

So my grandma saw my mom coming over from the barn, and yelled out to her,"Get in here!! The United States is being attacked!! I don't know exactly what was said between them after that.

Then my mom called me. It was later in the morning; I was going to go the bathroom, and my mom called me from next door, asking if I knew what happened. I said,"No, I don't know what you're talking about. What happened?" She told me what happened, and that I wouldn't believe it; and turn on the TV.